Field Reflection

The direction of my studies has been influenced greatly, I have been able to learn many new skills that are transferable and relevant to my graphics discipline. I can see myself utilising other sectors of the university far more than I have in the past, exploring new tools and techniques that can give my work an advanced creative edge. The woodwork and soft modelling are two fields I had never explored before and found them to be incredibly useful, I had never thought to combine such a contrast with graphics before.

The theory and lectures within both projects have developed my knowledge and understanding of design relating to an audience. It is always interesting to listen to lecturers and students from different fields; they creatively think in such different ways. Hardly knowing anybody within my selected projects, enabled me to become far more acquainted with other students and surround myself with different creative minds.

I have established a more refined way of developing and generating ideas after working with maker and product design students. Documenting my design process is something I was previously lacking, working in a team means it is essential to visualise your ideas so they can easily be communicated to others throughout all stages of work.

Multidiscipline always has it’s struggles although some of the standout learning experiences have been group coordination, time planning and having a leadership within the group. In different fields everyone has differing ways in which they wish to work and learning what to incorporate into a project and which skills to use is a very useful skill I have developed. Working around member’s schedules was a struggle, although it gave me time to work independently and ensure our meet ups were of relevance with developments to show each time.

Within play and creativity, working by myself had it’s positives and negatives. I was able to have full reign over project deadlines and had no pressure from conflicting ideas, however I feel as though I missed out on the key learning practices from multidiscipline with input that could have made my project even stronger. By attending the lectures, I was able to still make contact with the other students, perhaps working more in depth with them would have broadened my mindset to consider alternate methods of creativity.

I feel as though I have produced some of my best work this year within the two field projects, especially Play and Creativity and have been able to use them in application to the Digital Me subject project including my interactive and online portfolios, that will later help me in my further career.

Many personal strengths have developed greatly though confidence in myself, to confidence in working within a group and different fields. I feel much more open as a designer, I am far more willing to use unexpected mediums to communicate my ideas. Field has been a greatly positive experience and I am keen to apply the new skills I have learnt to future projects.

Published by

jillianhowe

A little bit about myself.. I'm a fun-loving, creative, Graphic Communication student at Cardiff School of Art and Design with a huge love for art, design and illustration. In my work, I always find a way to throw in a little bit of my own happiness and creativity by adding handmade touches and my own illustrative style to personalise and refine my designs. Design is supposed to make people say WOW! and that is the one goal that inspires me to do what I do.

Leave a comment